Home The Church in Canada and the World Catholic Church in the World

The Holy See

smaller text tool iconmedium text tool iconlarger text tool icon

The Holy SeeThe Holy See (Latin: Sancta Sedes, literally "holy seat") is the Episcopal see of Rome. The incumbent and local ordinary of the Diocese of Rome is the Bishop of Rome, more commonly referred to as the Pope.

The term “Holy See,” as used in Canon Law, also refers to the Pope and the Roman Curia—in effect, the central government of the Catholic Church. The term is more widely used in that sense today.


The Holy See
Canadian Centre for Ecumenism
Catholic Organization for Life and Family
Salt + Light
wydcanada en quicklink DP EN Quick   

ResponsibleMinistry EN
Amoris Laetitia Reflection Guide
wydcanada en logo
Euthanasia EN


The colours of the web site represent the official heraldic insignia of Bishops. The green corresponds to the galero (ecclesiastical hat) and six tassels on each side that make up the crest and supporters of the coat of arms of each Bishop while the gold represents the processional cross. More info...